Loaded Baked Potato Quiche

Amazeballs. That’s the only word I can think to describe this quiche. Amaze-balls. I mean, seriously, just look at it. Look at that sour cream. Look at the cheese. Look at the BACON. And that’s just the icing on the cake, so to speak.

I’ll be honest. When Jennifer first suggested we try a Loaded Baked Potato Quiche based off a random recipe she found online as one of the quiches for her bridal shower, I was skeptical. As a matter of fact, I’m pretty sure I told her I’d do it but if it sucks I’m telling everyone she bought it at Publix. I mean, I really had my doubts.

Now, keep in mind, the recipe she showed me did NOT look like this. I took it, looked it over, and then basically threw it away and did my own thing. I just needed the ground works. The idea. The roundabouts. And it was a hit. Damn filling, too. I dare you to try and eat more than one slice because I couldn’t and I can put away some quiche.

  • Base Quiche recipe
  •  1 1/2 cups frozen hash browns
  • 1-1 1/2 pounds bacon, diced and cooked
  • 16 oz shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/4-1/2 cup diced  ham
  • 3-4 green onions (optional), sliced thin
  • 1 1/2-2 cups grated parmesan cheese
  • 8 oz sour cream
  • chives (garnish)

For the quiche: Preheat oven to 400°. Dice and fry the bacon. Place on paper towels to drain excess grease. You’ll want to reserve approx 1/3 of the bacon for the top garnish. Put aside. Start off with the base quiche recipe. Stir in 3/4 of the cheddar cheese (reserving the rest for the garnish), Parmesan cheese, frozen hash browns (feel free to use less if your mixture looks too thick), diced ham and green onions. Fold in cooked bacon. Pour into your pie dish. Cover loosely with aluminum foil and place on a baking sheet. Bake for 50-60 minutes. Uncover and back for an additional 15-30 minutes or until it is set in the center and not too jiggly. Put aside and allow to cool for 30-45 minutes.

Once the quiche is cool to the touch, spread sour cream on top of quiche. I like to leave a bit of a border, only going to about 1/2 inch to the crust but it’s really up to you and how you want it to look. Be creative! Top sour cream with the reserved cheddar cheese, bacon and chopped chives. Slice and serve!

by Stephanie

 

Leave a Reply

