Crepes with Lingonberry Butter

I love food. Obvs, right? I mean, why else would I have a food blog. But my problem is most restaurants food just isn’t that good.

Yeah, that’s right…I said it. I mean, think about it. How many different items do you order from the same restaurant? I know for me, my average is two. TWO. At any given restaurant that I frequent there is only two things I will order (dessert not included). And I’m good with that. For one, it makes ordering really easy, especially since I do not like having to make decisions. If we plan on going to a new restaurant, I download the menu ahead of time to try and figure out what I want otherwise we could be there all night. And even then, it can take me upwards of an hour or more to try and decide. For realz, y’all…it’s a problem.

But every once in a while you find that one thing that is just amazing and you want to eat it every. damn. day. Which can get expensive. I mean, the average meal is $8-10 plus drink, tax and tip. You can be looking at $20 a day just for you.

This is what happened to me after I had my daughter, Evelyn. My Mom was visiting to help take care of me (thank God because I ended up having an emergency cesarean) and the teeny-tiny town she lives in does not have an IHOP.

Imma let that process with you for a second. A life without IHOP. You don’t even have to be the biggest fan of IHOP to feel the pain of that one. I think it’s pretty safe to say most of us have all, at one time or another, found ourselves there at 3:00am soul eating some pancakes.

So when my Mom came down, she had two requests. The first was to eat at Chick-fil-A (they didn’t have one of those within a 6 hour drive at the time) and the second was to eat at IHOP.

Now, I’m not the biggest fan of IHOP. They have a few things that I like but I always feel like they’re over priced for what you’re getting. I’d much rather go to Cracker Barrel. But when  your Mommy comes to take care of you for 6 weeks and all she asks for is some damn IHOP (and Chick-fil-a), you take her to IHOP. And so we went and I stared at the menu, having no idea what to order, for entirely too long, when my Mom excitedly said she wanted to try the crepes. Crepes. I mean, we’re at IHOP…I’m pretty sure it’s a requirement that you order some damn pancakes whether it’s morning, noon or night. But crepes are “technically” just thin pancakes so I let it slide. But then she said she wanted to try a savory crepe and I’m pretty sure at that moment my eye started to twitch.

I mean, what the fuck…

Who puts chicken in their pancakes??

But now she’s all excited and hungry and the waitress is there asking what we  want and Mom is ordering and now they are all looking at me and I’m looking at a page of crepes and panic and order Swedish crepes.

You know…the ones with that weird berry shit on it.

And as soon as she left, I felt the regret. Why didn’t I order the french toast? I like the french toast. I always order the french toast. French toast is good, oui?

So our food comes and my crepes are folded into weird little triangles and they have this berry stuff on it (I don’t like jellied fruit of my food) and pink butter and I think to myself, great…there goes $10 I could have spent at Starbucks…

But then I tried it. And oh my God it was amazing. So amazing, in fact, we ended up going to IHOP probably twice a week (at least) the whole time she was here, and every time I ordered the Swedish crepes.

After she left I went a few times on my own, but it always sucks to eat at a restaurant by yourself, so I decided I was going to duplicate the recipe at home. This way I could binge eat them whenever I wanted! Score! So here you have it…after many trial and errors, this is as close as I could get and they are pretty damn close if I do say so myself.

Crepes

  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 3 tbsp unsalted butter, melted

Lingonberry Butter

  • 4 tbsp softened butter (I use salted)
  • 2 tbsp lingonberry preserves

In a small food processor, mix together the softened butter and lingonberry preserves. If you don’t have a small food processor, you can mix together by hand, just make sure you do it well. Once it is mixed thoroughly, put back into the refrigerator to chill.

In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk and vanilla extract. In a small bowl, stir together salt, flour and sugar. Slowly stir the dry ingredients into the wet. Once it is combined, stir in the melted butter. Let the batter sit for at least 15 minutes.

Heat medium sized frying pan on medium high. If you need to grease the pan, use butter, not oil. Once the pan is heated, take off of the heat for a few seconds, then add a small amount of batter. Swirl the batter around the pan to coat the bottom evenly. Cook for a few seconds, until the top is almost completely cooked. Carefully flip and cook the other side for a few more seconds. Then fold into quarters, making a little triangle. Repeat until all of the batter is cooked.

Serve with the lingonberry butter on top.

*These also store great in the freezer. Just pop them in the oven or toaster oven, frozen, and you have fresh crepes whenever you want!

by Stephanie

 

Leave a Reply

