Not Butter Buttercream Icing – Not your Mama’s Box Cake Mix

Happy Birthday, America! I hope I look as good as you when I turn 240.

A friend of mine posted this today and I thought it was pretty funny.

“Breaking up was hard to do Britain, I just needed some space….I’m just too independent. Glad we remained friends. I’m going to go celebrate our break up now….It’s not you, it’s US.”.

Admit it, you laughed.

And another friend posted this…

13557786_10108841594760041_6296335917451220838_n

It’s that Middleburg humor coming out.

And since it’s the USA’s birfday, I made a cake!

Bitches love cake.

And to make it extra special, I baked a flag in it.

I got the original recipe from good ‘ole Betty Crocker (http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/red-white-and-blue-layered-flag-cake/9aaef2a0-b01d-4cb8-9bab-c0d0451a1065) but of course, made a few adjustments. Mostly I just used this to figure out how to assemble the cake.

Now I’m going to let you in on a little secret….I use box cake mix 75% of the time. Admit it, you do it, too. And it’s ok. But one of my BFFs (Teresa) taught me a trick to make my box cake taste like homemade and now I’m going to teach it to you! (Seriously, I do this when I make cupcakes for birthday parties and people are amazed when I tell them that no, they are not made from scratch, they are in fact from a box.

So to make a box taste like scratch, it’s really simple. Just do the following:

  • Always add one extra egg than it calls for
  • Use milk instead of water (same amounts)
  • Use 1/2 cup melted or softened butter instead of oil (it doesn’t matter how much oil it calls for, unless it calls for more than 1/2 cup, then use that amount)

And that’s it. Really pretty simple.

The other thing she taught me was Not Butter Buttercream icing. I came up with the name…she still calls it Buttercream.

This is especially great if you know someone who has a dairy allergy.

(This makes A LOT of icing, as I needed a lot for my cake. Feel free to cut the recipe in half.)

  • 16 oz Crisco shortening
  • 2-3 lbs powdered sugar
  • 1-2 tbsp Wilton Butter flavoring (clear)
  • 2-3 tbsp Vanilla extract (clear)
  • *optional* 2-3 tsp Almond extract (clear)
  • water

Beat Crisco until smooth. Add in vanilla extract and butter flavoring (and almond extract if using). Beat in powdered sugar, one cup at a time. As the icing starts to get thick, add water 1 tbsp at a time until it is the right consistency.

Feel free to play with the flavorings as you see fit. You can also add in some Cocoa powder to make a chocolate icing.

 

by Stephanie

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

