A little bit about Jennifer

When it comes to cooking, Stephanie and I couldn’t be more different. Where she can look at a cupboard full of ingredients and find a weeks worth of meals to feed her family, I would be huddled on the floor in the fetal position just knowing we would be starving and eating raw Ramon noodles.  Ok, so maybe I’m not THAT bad, but I’m pretty sure the thought would have crossed my mind.

I am, what you would call, a die-hard recipe follower. If there was a recipe to boil water, I’m sure I’d follow it.  I don’t consider myself to be inventive or creative in the kitchen, just a lover of good food that I hopefully won’t fuck up.  The recipes I’ll share with you will be ones I have found and tweaked to give them a slight twist, or just some that are great tried and true recipes.

Now, I won’t lie…I have definitely had a few, shall we call them, “incidents” while cooking, and by incidents I mean, fires (both in the oven and on the stove top), burns from not paying attention, potential blinding from rogue chili peppers and it is possible that one of my friends has a 3 ft. radius around her stove I am not allowed to cross.  BUT (and that’s a big but), when I do finally nail that recipe, I hit it out of the park!

So I guess the bottom line is, for me, I believe cooking can be for anyone; the flawed, the busy, the accident prone, and maybe together we can grow and build our skills while trying not to land in the ER.

by Jennifer

 

Leave a Reply

