The Best Spinach and Artichoke Dip

Listen, I try not to toot my own horn about things (I’m actually very modest when it comes to my cooking), but one can only hear how amazing this dip is so many times before they start tooting…and I don’t mean the kind that comes from the musical fruit.

Seriously. You have to try this. You won’t be sorry.

This recipe actually came about a few years ago from a friend who found a recipe online and tweaked it, then *I* tweaked her tweak and later even tweaked my own tweak…Hell, I can’t remember who did what and where anymore. But that’s ok, because the important thing is that it’s here and it’s delicious and it freezes well.

I make this for pretty much every party I throw or go to. The funny thing is, it’s totally vegetarian safe and yet my vegetarian/pescetarian husband won’t eat it. He doesn’t like the artichokes (which of course means I use EXTRA artichokes). Whatevs. Just means there’s more for me.

This recipe is for a large, party-size batch. I always like to make extra because it’s not any harder to make more and you can put it in a glass pan, cover and freeze it to use or eat later.

  • 32 oz cream cheese (I use Kraft Philadelphia brand)
  • 1 cup mayo (I use Hellman’s)
  • 1 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 cup grated Romano cheese
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 2 tsp dried basil
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 cup chopped artichoke hearts (more or less based upon your preference)
  • 1 1/2 packages (approx 1 cup) frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained (I use store brand)
  • 1 cup Mozzarella cheese
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper

Defrost spinach and squeeze out water. I have found it is easiest to put it in a wire mesh colander in the sink drain with some paper towels over it and something heavy on top to help push out the water.

Chop artichoke hearts to desired size. I like to chop mine up small so it’s easier to dip.

In a large pot, melt butter, cream cheese and mozzarella cheese together, stirring often. Remove from heat. In a large bowl, mix together mayo, Parmesan cheese, Romano cheese, garlic, basil, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Once that is all combined, stir in the melted cheese mixture.

Fold spinach and chopped artichoke hearts into the mixture.

Pour into a 9×13 pan and smooth out top. Bake at 350° until it is warmed all the way through (the edges should be brown).

Serve with tortilla chips or (my personal favorite) in a bread bowl with Hawaiian rolls.

IMG_8822a

by Stephanie

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

