Deviled Eggs

One of the biggest complaints I hear from people when it comes to making deviled eggs is that they can never get the shells off right and end up with gouges in the sides of their eggs. To this, I generally tell people it’s because you’re boiling your eggs wrong. I don’t even have to ask them how they boil their eggs because outside of my family, I have never met anyone who boils eggs like I do.

My grandmother taught my mom how to properly boil an egg and now I’m going to teach you. You’ll thank me later.

Step 1) Bring a pot of water to boil.

Step 2) Slowly lower eggs into boiling water.

Step 3) Set the timer for 13 minutes (for large eggs) and walk away.

Step 4) When the timer goes off, carefully pour out the hot water and run cold water into the pot (I like to add ice sometimes to help cool the water quicker).

Step 5) Once the eggs are cool, a simple *tap tap roll* on the counter and the shells will fall off in one piece.

It really is that simple.

Now for the deviled eggs. This recipe was one of the few that Jennifer and I disagreed on for the wedding. She likes hers very plain with just mayo and mustard (heavy on the mustard, she said) where as *I* add in an extra ingredient. We compromised with me making both styles as long as she promised to try mine with an open mind.

And she did.

And she begrudgingly liked them.

Stephanie 1 Jennifer 0

So my recipe? Well, it’s pretty simple once you get over the fact that I don’t measure anything. Yeah, yeah, I know…I’m sorry. But it’s just one of those things where you just use a little squirt here, a dollop there, mix and taste. You’ll get used to it, I swear. Just be light handed at first. You can add but you can’t take away (although you could just boil more eggs…)

Ingredients:

  • Eggs
  • Mayonnaise (I prefer Kraft but will use Hellman’s if that’s all I have)
  • French’s yellow mustard
  • Sweet relish
  • Sweet Paprika *optional*

Boil your eggs following the instructions above. Once they’ve cooled, peel and rinse. Cut the eggs in half and scoop out the yolk into a separate bowl, place egg halves aside on a platter or deviled egg serving dish.

Smoosh egg yolks with a fork and mix in a spoonful of mayonnaise and a squirt or two of mustard. (You can also use a food processor if you are wanting a super smooth, piping worthy mixture, or if you are making a ton of eggs.) Add a little more mayo and mustard as needed. Remember to taste as you go. (I like to use any damaged or deformed egg whites to taste with.) Once you have the mixture tasting right, start adding in your relish. Again, one spoonful at a time, mixing and tasting as you go.

After you have everything mixed together, start spooning it into your egg whites. Or if you want to get super fancy, pipe it in using a large, open tip (don’t use a star tip, the relish will get stuck). Garnish with a little sprinkle of sweet paprika and serve!

IMG_8817a

 

by Stephanie

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Janet Kist says:

    I’m loving your blogs! Of course I boil my eggs this way (I’m family & your mom taught me) And that’s my deviled egg recipe too, but I add salt and pepper. No pastry bag for me! I snip the corner off of a baggie to ‘pipe’ the filling in my egg whites 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

