Spaghetti Casserole

First of all, let me apologize for such a horrible and unappetizing photo. It was the best I could do considering how quickly it was being eaten. And honestly, I didn’t think it was going to be a blog worthy meal. It was just something I whipped up really quick for dinner. Color me surprised. The damn thing was tasty.

Which is saying a lot considering it uses whole grain pasta…and I hate whole grain pasta.

Whenever I cook wg (whole grain) pasta, I do whatever I can to try and mask the taste of it. I mean, seriously, that shit is gross. And I don’t know about you, but leftover wg pasta always has a kind of slime on it the next day in the refrigerator. Seriously gross.

But we’re “supposed” to be eating better so wg it is.

Tonight, however, was a total win. The boy asked for seconds and the demon girl asked for thirds.

It must have been all the cheese…

That’s the secret, btdubs, lots and lots of cheese. Kind of defeats the purpose of eating “healthier” but I can only concede so much.

Ingredients:

  • 16oz whole grain spaghetti
  • 8oz cream cheese
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 1/8 tsp garlic powder
  • salt and pepper
  • 1-2 shakes red pepper flake
  • 2 large eggs
  • 8oz shredded mozzarella/provolone cheese mix
  • 1 jar Classico Cabernet Marinara sauce (or your sauce of choice)

Boil spaghetti al dente according to directions on the box. Once done, rinse well with hot water. While pasta is boiling, heat cream cheese to mostly melted. Stir in garlic, basil, garlic powder, red pepper flake, salt and pepper. Place aside.

Pour pasta into a 9×13 dish. Beat 2 eggs. Pour eggs over pasta and stir to coat. Next, mix in cream cheese mixture and sauce until fully coated. Top with mozzarella/provolone cheese. Bake at 350° until cheese is melted. Broil on high to toast the top. Cut and serve.

img_7642

 

 

Leave a Reply

