Creamy Chicken Enchiladas Verde

I’m not the biggest fan of Mexican food.

I mean, my idea of great Mexican food is Taco Bell. Call me an asshole all you want but those Gorditas are off the hook (or is it off the chain??).

However, my husband loves Mexican food and considering he is a seafood eating vegetarian who lives off of pasta and pizza, I try to accommodate other foods whenever I can.

So when I make him his soy vegetarian enchiladas, I take the opportunity to make me something with meat. But I also like to try and eat the “same” thing as him. It makes me feel like we’re eating together as a family.

Also, please don’t hate me, but this is one of those recipes that’s not a real recipe…

I “invented” this one day with leftover stuffs in my fridge.

Ingredients:

  • Rotisserie chicken
  • Fresh spinach, cut
  • Fresh tomato, diced
  • Mayo (I prefer Hellman’s)
  • Sour Cream
  • Shredded Cheddar Cheese
  • Shredded Monterey Jack Cheese
  • 1-2 cans Verde Sauce
  • Flour tortillas
  • Seasoning (I use Everglade Seasoning but I think that’s just a Florida thing)

Shred rotisserie chicken, minus the skin. Add in spinach and tomato (as much as you want). Add equal parts of mayo and sour cream. Enough to make it creamy but not too creamy. You want it to hold together. Add shredded cheddar cheese (I usually use an 8oz bag). If you need to add more mayo and sour cream, do it. Season with Everglade seasoning or garlic and onion powder (or whatever you have/want).

Pour a small amount of Verde sauce into the bottom of your pan, just enough to coat the bottom. This will help it from sticking. Spoon chicken mixture into flour tortillas, wrap and place seam side down into pan. Repeat until the pan is full or until you run out of chicken mixture. You may need to use more than one pan, it just depends on how much you make. Once the pan(s) are full, pour the remaining Verde sauce over enchiladas, sprinkle with Monterey Jack cheese (or more cheddar if you prefer). Bake at 350 deg until cheese is good and melty.

These freeze well and taste great the next day!  love making a ton of them and dividing them up into single servings in my freezer to eat later.

Leave a Reply

