Mother Daughter Pancakes

I grew up in a house where we made things from scratch. There was no “bisquick” pancake mix in the pantry. No sir. We made pancakes the old fashion way and they were fantastic. Same goes with things like cakes, cookies, brownies… People still look at me weird when I say I didn’t use a box mix.

Now, is there anything WRONG with using a box mix? No. I just prefer “from scratch”. It’s simple and tastes better.

Over the years, I have improved upon my mother’s pancake recipe. Unless I’m at her house visiting, then we use her recipe. Both are great but my husband prefers my adapted recipe.

Mom’s Pancakes

Ingredients:

Easiest thing to remember is it is one of everything…

  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup flour (plus more if needed)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cap of oil
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 dash of salt
  • 1 tbsp sugar

Beat together milk and eggs. Add dry ingredients. Add more flour as needed. Mix in oil. Heat skillet to 350 deg. Ladle batter onto hot pan. Flip once bubbles have popped.

Daughter’s Pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup flour (plus more as needed)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • dash of salt

Beat together milk and eggs. Add dry ingredients. Add more flour as needed. Mix in butter last (this is very important). Heat skillet to 350 deg. Ladle batter onto hot pan. Flip once bubbles have popped.

Leave a Reply

