Banana Bread

Don’t you hate it when you go to make a recipe and you don’t have all or enough ingredients? Even worse it when you’ve already STARTED making it before the realization hits. That’s what happened to me today.

Now, I love a good banana muffin but it has to be just right. I’m super picky when it comes to them. I hate when they are really heavy and extra “banana-y” but I also don’t like them so lacking in banana they might as well be called un-banana muffins. Just call me Goldilocks and the 3 banana muffins. I like them JUUUUST right. Because of this, I have yet to find a worthy recipe to make at home.

Until Kim came along. Kim works in my husband’s office suite and is also his best friend’s sister-in-law. One day she brings in these muffins and says “Here, take these. I just started a new diet and I can’t eat them.”

Free food? You don’t have to tell me twice. I figured the husband would like them and the kids will eat just about anything in muffin form.

And then I tried one and it was like the banana heavens opened up and little cherub muffins began to sing.

Ok, I’m exaggerating, but they were pretty damn delicious. And I was also starving.

Long story short, she printed out the recipe for me from Food Network and sent me on my way.

Flash forward to today. I’m in the mood to make some muffins for the kids, I had bought extra bananas so I could have a fighting chance of letting a few bananas go soft (bananas are eaten quickly in the house…some days my daughter will steal at least four for herself) and I wasn’t super exhausted.

But then I did the bad thing…I started making the muffins without checking to make sure I actually had enough of the ingredients to make them. Oops.

So I had to improvise and I have to say, I am quite pleased with how they turned out. This will definitely be my new “go-to” for banana muffins. Next, I’ll try making it in a loaf.

Ingredients:

  • 4 1/2 cups AP flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter (I used salted), melted
  • 1 cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • 5 large eggs
  • 2 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 6 ripe bananas, peeled and coarsely mashed

*This recipe makes a lot!!)

Line muffin cups with paper liners. Pre-heat oven to 325°f.

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, salt, baking powder, cinnamon and nutmeg to blend. Set aside. In a small bowl, coarsely mash the ripe bananas. Set aside. In your mixing bowl, beat sugar, brown sugar, melted butter, applesauce, eggs and vanilla to blend. Stir in mashed bananas. Add the dry ingredients and mix until just blended.

Pour the batter into the prepared muffin cups. Bake the muffins on the middle rack until the tops are a nice golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean from the center, about 20-25 minutes. Transfer muffins to a cooling rack or a towel on the countertop (that’s what I do) to cool.

I also made mini loaves.


Leave a Reply

