Bacon wrapped jalapeno popper chicken

I know it’s been a while but A LOT has been happening.

First of all, I got pregnant! And then I had a baby!

All of this was kept very hush hush as we decided to NOT tell my husbands family (for personal reasons) until after the baby was born. I’m sure you can imagine how well THAT went over.

But while I was pregnant I had a few food aversions, like coffee (that was torture!), and also developed gestational diabetes so food became not so fun during that last part of my pregnancy.

After that, I’ve just been adapting to baby number 3, trying to lose this stupid baby weight and get out of pre-diabetes. So I’ve been living the low-carb life. Again, not the most fun in the world, but it is what it is so I’m trying to make the best of it.

And tonight the best was Bacon wrapped Jalapeno popper chicken.

I had seen this recipe floating around a few months ago and tucked the idea into the back of my mind. It’s very simple to make and total time takes around an hour. It’s low carb and delicious! Pair it with some veggies or do what I do and skip the sides (they just take up space, anyway).

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 large, boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 4-5 oz cream cheese
  • 1/3-1/2 shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 2-3 large jalapenos
  • Bacon (approx 3-4 slices per breast, depending on the size)
  • 2-3 tsp ranch mix

Dice jalapenos into small pieces and mix together with cream cheese, cheddar cheese, and ranch mix. Set aside.

Slice chicken through the thickest part, creating a pocket. Stuff with jalapeno cheese mixture. Wrap chicken breast with bacon, making sure to completely cover the cheese.


Preheat oven to 400 deg F. Fry the bacon wrapped chicken in a frying pan to brown the bacon. Flip and fry the other side.



Place chicken in a large baking dish and bake for 30-40 minutes, until chicken is cooked through and the bacon is browned.

I like mine served with a side of ranch.


Leave a Reply

